Karl H. Johansson


Karl H. Johansson


Karl H. Johansson is Professor at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden. He received MSc and PhD degrees from Lund University. He has held visiting positions at UC Berkeley, California Institute of Technology, Nanyang Technological University, Institute of Advanced Studies Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, and Zhejiang University. His research interests are in networked control systems, cyber-physical systems, and applications in transportation, energy, and automation systems. He is a member of the Swedish Research Council's Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering Sciences. He has served on the IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors, the IFAC Executive Board, and he is currently Vice-President of the European Control Association Council. He has been on the Editorial Boards of Automatica, IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, IEEE Transactions on Control of Network Systems, and IET Control Theory and Applications, and currently serves on the Editorial Boards of ACM Transactions on Internet of Things, Annual Review of Control, Robotics, and Autonomous Systems and European Journal of Control. He has received several best paper awards and other distinctions from IEEE, IFAC, and ACM. In 2017 he was awarded Distinguished Professor of the Swedish Research Council and in 2009 he was awarded Wallenberg Scholar, as one of the first ten scholars from all sciences, by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation. He was awarded Future Research Leader from the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research in 2005. He received the triennial Young Author Prize from IFAC in 1996 and the Peccei Award from the International Institute of System Analysis, Austria, in 1993. He was granted Young Researcher Awards from Scania in 1996 and from Ericsson in 1998 and 1999. He is an IEEE Fellow and Fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences and is a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Control Systems Society.

Position(s) & Affiliation(s)

KTH Royal Institute of Technology