IEEE CSS Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize

To recognize outstanding achievement in research in systems and control by a young researcher and to honor the memory of Dr. Antonio Ruberti.

Historical Background:

Established in 2005; Revised 2015.

The Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize was established in 2005 to honor the memory of Antonio Ruberti. Antonio Ruberti was one of the first three Professors of Automatic Control in Italy (together with Giorgio Quazza and Antonio Lepschy). In 1964 the first chair of Automatic Control was established at the University of Rome "La Sapienza" and he was hired to occupy that position. He was Faculty Dean and later Rector (for 11 years) of "La Sapienza", Minister of Minister of University and Scientific Research, Commissioner of the EU for Science, Research and Education, and he later held several other positions in EU Commission till his sudden and unexpected death in 2000. His scientific interests in the field of system and control were very wide. In particular, he was one of the early pioneers of geometric control methods for nonlinear systems. For further information about Professor Ruberti, please follow this link to the following website dedicated to his contribution - currently under construction.

$5,000, photo-engraved Plaque, and travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference).
Funded annually by the Antonio Ruberti Foundation through an MOU agreement with the Society.
At the annual awards ceremony of the IEEE Conference on Decision and Control.
Basis for Judging:
Based on the research contributions of the nominee. Contributions to either the theory or applications of systems and control will be considered equally. The determining factor will be the perceived impact of the nominee on the field as evidenced by publications, patents, products, or other tangible items. The broader impacts of the contribution towards the benefit of society at large and towards the CSS diversity and inclusiveness goals in terms of geography, gender, and work sector.
The nominee must be 40 years old or younger on January 1st of the year nominated. IEEE or CSS membership is not required.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the IEEE Control Systems Society Awards nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination System Instructions

Fabio Pasqualetti

For foundational contributions to the theories of cyber-physical security, complex networks, and data-driven control

Javad Lavaei

For outstanding and highly interdisciplinary contributions to distributed control, nonlinear optimization, and innovative applications to energy systems.

Necmiye Ozay

For fundamental contributions to control and identification of hybrid and cyber-physical systems

Ufuk Topcu

For fundamental contributions to the verification and synthesis of nonlinear, hybrid and learning-enabled control systems with applications in autonomy

Aaron Ames

For fundamental contributions to the nonlinear control of hybrid and safety-critical systems, with application to walking robots and robotic assistive devices that restore mobility

Vijay Gupta

For contributions to the fundamentals of networked and cyber-physical systems

Wei Ren

For pioneering contributions to distributed coordination and control of multi-agent systems

Yasamin Mostofi

For contributions to the fundamentals of communications and control co-optimization in mobile sensor networks

Paulo Tabuada

For contributions to the analysis and design of cyber-physical systems

Murat Arcak

For contributions to the theory and applications of nonlinear control, stability and passivity

Alexandre Bayen

For his contributions to control and estimation of partial differential equations with applications to large-scale sensing in traffic flow and shallow-water systems

Massimo Franceschetti

For his contributions in physical and information-based foundation of networked control and communication systems

Pablo Parrilo

For fundamental contributions to optimization theory and its applications

George J. Pappas

For fundamental contributions to embedded, hybrid, and networked control systems

João Hespanha

For fundamental contributions to adaptive control and to the theory of switched and hybrid systems

Rodolphe Sepulchre

For contributions to the theory and applications of nonlinear dynamical systems, in particular, coordination, synchronization, and control

Alessandro Astolfi

For contributions to the theory and applications of nonlinear control systems

Vincent Blondel

For fundamental contributions to control theory, especially stabilization, computational complexity issues, and decidability

Richard Braatz

For theoretical results in the robust control of complex systems, and their application in the process, pharmaceutical, and microelectronics industries