IEEE Fellow

Each year the IEEE designates as Fellows individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the electrical and electronics engineering profession. The CSS has two standing committees, with non-overlapping membership, that participate in the Fellow selection process. The chairs of these two committees, who must be IEEE Fellows and CSS members, are appointed by the BoG based on recommendations from the President-Elect and the Executive Committee. The chairs appoint the members of their committees.

To view recipients of IEEE Fellow prior to 2018 or to view members elevated by other Societies or Councils please visit the CSS IEEE Fellows Archive.

You can find more information regarding the IEEE Fellow Program along with a complete listing of IEEE Fellows here. A list of women CSS Fellows can be found by selecting the "Women" tab here.

Nomination Details:

The Fellow Evaluation Committee, which should have at least six members, evaluates the achievements of those nominees whose forms are forwarded to it by their respective nominators. (Each nomination designates a relevant IEEE Society that should be asked to provide an evaluation of the candidate's achievements.) The Fellow Evaluation Committee should be composed of IEEE Fellows whose joint expertise spans the breadth of technical specialties covered by the CSS.

The Fellow Nomination Committee seeks out worthy candidates and nominators for those individuals in order to improve the pool of candidates for consideration as Fellows.


Sonja Glavaski

for leadership in energy systems

Christoforos Hadjicostis

for contributions to distributed and discrete event systems

Sirish Shah

for contributions to process and performance monitoring

Maria Prandini

for contributions to stochastic, hybrid and distributed control systems theory

Sandra Hirche

for contributions to human-machine interaction and networked control

Antonella Ferrara

for contributions to sliding mode control theory

Sarah Spurgeon

for contributions to variable structure control and estimation

Jun Zhao

for contributions to switched systems and dissipativity theory

Andrea Garulli

for contributions to set membership identification and robust analysis of uncertain systems

Yasamin Mostofi

for contributions to control and communications co-optimization in mobile sensor networks