IEEE Control Systems Technology Award

To recognize outstanding contributions to control systems technology either in design and implementation or project management.

Historical Background:

Revised 2000.

$2,000, photo-engraved Plaque for each recipient, and travel expenses to the CDC for one recipient (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference) If the prize is awarded to a group, members of the group will equally split the cash portion of the prize.
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At the Awards Ceremony of the IEEE Control Systems Society.
Basis for Judging:
The technical merit of the outstanding control systems technology contribution in either design and implementation, or project management. The broader impacts of the contribution towards the benefit of society at large and towards the CSS diversity and inclusiveness goals in terms of geography, gender, and work sector.
Either an individual or a team.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the IEEE Control Systems Society Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions


Malcolm Smith, Will Hoult, and Panos Brezas

For the development of the McLaren 720S semi-active suspension control system

Warren Dixon, Nitin Sharma, Matthew J. Bellman, Alan Hamlet, Christian Cousin, Courtney Rouse, Ryan Downey, and Victor Duenas

For closed-loop functional electrical stimulation control methods leading to successful commercialization and personalized rehabilitative treatment options

Pierino Bonanni, James Brooks, David Chan, Ramu Chandra, Paul Houpt, H. Kirk Mathews, Bernardo Movsichoff, and Manthram Sivasubramaniam

For control systems innovations of the GE Trip Optimizer leading to both commercial success and significant environmental benefits

Aaron Knobloch, R. Dyche Anderson, Jason Karp, Christopher Kapusta, and Jason Siegel

For the development of an advanced battery management system accounting for electro-thermo-mechanical phenomena

Nathan Van De Wouw, Henk Nijmeijer, Alexey Pavlov, and Marcel Heertjes

For the development and application of variable-gain control techniques for high-performance motion systems

Michael Cantoni, Iven Mareels, and Erik Weyer

For their work, in a 15 year collaboration with Rubicon Water of Australia, for the development and implementation of controls for irrigation channels and water management, as embodied in Rubicon's Total Channel Control product

David Germann, Dejan Kihas, Daniel Pachner, Jaroslav Pekar, Greg Stewart, and Francesco Borrelli

For the design, implementation and commercialization of the OnRAMP design suite for powertrain control

Christos G. Cassandras, and Michael Clune

For the design and commercial development of SimEvents, a discrete event and hybrid system simulator