IEEE Fellow

Each year the IEEE designates as Fellows individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the electrical and electronics engineering profession. The CSS has two standing committees, with non-overlapping membership, that participate in the Fellow selection process. The chairs of these two committees, who must be IEEE Fellows and CSS members, are appointed by the BoG based on recommendations from the President-Elect and the Executive Committee. The chairs appoint the members of their committees.

To view recipients of IEEE Fellow prior to 2018 or to view members elevated by other Societies or Councils please visit the CSS IEEE Fellows Archive.

You can find more information regarding the IEEE Fellow Program along with a complete listing of IEEE Fellows here. A list of women CSS Fellows can be found by selecting the "Women" tab here.

Nomination Details:

The Fellow Evaluation Committee, which should have at least six members, evaluates the achievements of those nominees whose forms are forwarded to it by their respective nominators. (Each nomination designates a relevant IEEE Society that should be asked to provide an evaluation of the candidate's achievements.) The Fellow Evaluation Committee should be composed of IEEE Fellows whose joint expertise spans the breadth of technical specialties covered by the CSS.

The Fellow Nomination Committee seeks out worthy candidates and nominators for those individuals in order to improve the pool of candidates for consideration as Fellows.


Hideaki Ishii

for contributions to networked control of large-scale systems

Asuman Ozdaglar

for contributions to distributed multi-agent networks

Gianluigi Pillonetto

for contributions to kernel-based linear system identification

Chunjiang Qian

for contributions to control and estimation of nonlinear systems

Daniel Quevedo

for contributions to optimal and model predictive control

Jacquelien Scherpen

for contributions to nonlinear model reduction and passivity-based control

Bruno Sinopoli

for contributions to networked and secure control systems

Nathan Van De Wouw

for contributions to hybrid, data-based and networked control

Aaron Ames

for contributions to hybrid and safety-critical nonlinear control with demonstration on robotic systems

Domitilla Del Vecchio

for contributions to circuit engineering in synthetic biology