IEEE CSS Transition to Practice Award

This award recognizes outstanding collaborative scientific interactions between industry and/or research laboratories and academic communities that transition basic controls and system theory to practical systems for the benefit of the society at large.

This award will recognize an individual or a team of researchers whose research activity arising from Industry-University collaboration(s) has produced substantive results with demonstrated impact to practice. It will be awarded to the competitor(s) who best demonstrates research with a high-degree of excellence and effective industry-university collaboration with proven record of success in transitioning systems and control theory emanating from their research to practical industrial or commercial systems.

The winner will receive $2,000 as cash prize, a certificate laminated on a plaque, and travel expenses to the IEEE Conference on Control Technology and Applications (CCTA) in year (YYYY+1). The travel expenses reimbursement will be the standard IEEE CSS Package (i.e., round trip restricted (minimal) coach airfare, conference registration, and three hotel nights at the conference rate). If the prize is awarded to a group, members of the group will equally split the cash portion of the prize and only one member of the group will receive travel reimbursement. Each group member will receive a certificate.
Contributions from organizations will be requested that together with a CSS contribution will permanently fund this award. CSS has the financial resources to completely fund the permanent cost of this award while maintaining a positive budget. Nonetheless, CSS plans to solicit contributions for the award from Industrial and University Sponsors. CSS does anticipate partially funding the award.
Annual award. The award winner(s) names will be announced at the IEEE Conference on Control Technology and Applications (CCTA) in year YYYY. The winner will receive the award and present a one hour lecture at the CCTA in year (YYYY+1). Only one person will give the lecture.
Basis for Judging:
Essential Factors to be Considered
 Outstanding contribution(s) and demonstrated impact of the resulting control system technology from the nominated Industry-University Collaborations.
Desirable Factors to be Considered
 Promotion and enhancement of industry employment of control engineering graduate students
 Improved products dependent on the nominated research
 Leveraging of current and new systems and control theory for economic advantage
 Summary of broader benefits to the society at large (current and anticipated future benefits)
Faculty and industry partners can be included in the nomination package for consideration by the award committee when their contributions are considered important for the success of transitioning the control research to practice. The word “Industry” is defined broadly to represent all non-academic sectors such as the commercial sector, government research laboratories, and military establishments. The word “Practice” is broadly defined to represent “in use” as standard product or service. Researcher(s) cannot receive the award more than once.
The award nominee(s) must be member(s) of IEEE. There are no restrictions on the time period of achievement. The nomination package should demonstrate tangible and visible achievements. While a team can be nominated, only one person will give the lecture and should be identified on the nomination form.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the CSS Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions


Guy Dumont

For world-leading research in several areas including adaptive control, process control, and biomedical engineering, and its transfer to practical use in industry and society

Alberto Bemporad

For lasting contributions to theory and advanced applications of Model Predictive Control (MPC) culminating in mass production introduction of MPC for powertrain control in the automotive industry

Jagannathan Sarangapani

For the development of adaptive neural network feedback control schemes and decision tools, and their translation into industrial practice

Angeliki Pantazi

For development of advanced control technologies for magnetic tape data storage and nanopositioning applications

Petros Ioannou

For the research, development, and transition to practice of the Adaptive Cruise Control utilized by Ford Motor Company in their production vehicles

Robert Bitmead

For advanced control applications in a range of industry sectors where each has involved innovation in theory to achieve the practical outcome

Sirish Shah

For the development of control performance monitoring techniques and their translation into industrial practice

John Wen

For adaptive scanning optical microscopes and a high precision laser scanning system for the electronic manufacturing industry and for translation of systems theory to practice

Masaaki Nagahara

For the introduction and development of the sound-processing technology incorporated in a large number of LSI chips by SANYO Semiconductor

Yutaka Yamamoto

For the introduction and development of the sound-processing technology incorporated in a large number of LSI chips by SANYO Semiconductor