IEEE Control Systems Outstanding Paper Award

To recognize an outstanding article or column published in IEEE Control Systems.

Historical Background:

Established in 1998.

A photo-engraved plaque for each recipient and, for one recipient of each award, travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare), conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference).
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At most one (1) award presented annually at the Awards Ceremony of the IEEE Control Systems Society.
Basis for Judgement:
Impact on and benefit to IEEE Control Systems Society Members.
Authors of articles or columns published in the society magazine, IEEE Control Systems, during the two calendar years preceding the year of the award. The paper publication date is determined by the journal volume date (not the online publication date.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the CSS Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions



Ricardo Sanfelice


James Hilkert

Francesco Bullo, Jorge Cortes, Sonia Martinez, Sonia Martinez

James Bailey, Wassim Haddad

Karl Åström, Richard Klein, Anders Lennartsson


Gunter Stein

Bonnie Heck, Linda Wills, George Vachtsevanos

Daniel Abramovitch, Gene Franklin

Josse De Baerdemaeker, Axel Munack, Herman Ramon, Hermann Speckmann

Thomas Vincent, Tania Vincent