Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize

To recognize distinguished contributions to control systems science or engineering.

$2,000, photo-engraved Plaque, and travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference) The recipient gives a plenary lecture at the CDC evaluating a significant contribution to control systems science or engineering.
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At the Awards Ceremony of the CSS.
Basis for Judgement:
The technical merit of the distinguished contributions to control systems science or engineering. The broader impacts of the contribution towards the benefit of society at large and towards the CSS diversity and inclusiveness goals in terms of geography, gender, and work sector.



Mark Spong

"For contributions to nonlinear control and robotics."


Naomi Leonard

For contributions to the theory and application of coordinated control of mobile, multi-agent systems in engineering and in nature.


Richard Murray

for contributions to the theory of networked control systems and its applications to systems biology


Hassan Khalil

For seminal contributions to nonlinear control theory and education


Bruce Francis

For seminal contributions to robust and H-infinity control, linear control theory, sampled-data control, and distributed robotics


B. Ross Barmish

For fundamental contributions to the analysis of systems with parametric uncertainty and to probabilistic robustness, and for contributions to the design of stock-trading algorithms that are robust to market variability.


Jessy Grizzle

For his work on automotive applications, his results on nonlinear system theory and for his more recent application to experiments on bipedal locomotion that provide an excellent showcase to the broader community of the value of control theory


John Baillieul

For seminal contributions to mathematical system theory and networked control


Manfred Morari

For distinguished contributions to the theory and industrial impact of model predictive control


Peter Caines

For fundamental contributions in the areas of stochastic, adaptive, large scale and hybrid systems