George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award

To recognize outstanding papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control.

Award Information
Certificate laminated on a plaque (one for each author).
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
Up to three (3) awards presented annually at the Awards Ceremony of the CSS.
Authors of papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control during the two calendar years preceding the year of the award.
Basis for Judgement: 
Originality, potential impact on the theoretical foundations of control, importance and practical significance in applications, and clarity.
Award Nomination
Nomination Deadline: 
May 15 of each year.

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the CSS Awards Nomination system at Please download the nomination form and follow the instructions.

Award Recipients

1997 - "Pade Approximation for Stochastic Discrete-Event Systems," 40:8, August 1995

1996 - "A Function Space Approach to Sampled Data Control Systems and Tracking Problems," 39:4, April 1994

Headshot Photo
Kyoto University

1995 - "H-Infinity Optimal Control for Singularly Perturbed Systems, Part II: Imperfect State Measurements," 39:2, February 1994

Headshot Photo
University of Illinois

1994 - "Limited Lookahead Policies in Supervisory Control of Discrete Event Systems," 37:12, December 1992

Stéphane Lafortune Headshot Photo
The University of Michigan

1993 - "Systematic Design of Adaptive Controllers for Feedback Linearizable Systems," 36:11, November 1991

A. Stephen Morse Headshot Photo
Yale University
Headshot Photo
University of California-Santa Barbara

1992 - "Optimal Robustness in the Gap Metric," 35:6, June 1990

Headshot Photo
University of Cambridge

1991 - "Output Regulation of Nonlinear Systems," 35:2, February 1990

Headshot Photo
University di Roma "La Sapienza"
Headshot Photo
Washington University

1990 - "Robust Control of Ill-conditioned Plants: High-purity Distillation," 33:12, December 1988

Manfred Morari Headshot Photo
Automatic Control Laboratory, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
John Doyle Headshot Photo
California Institute of Technology

1990 - "State-space Solutions to Standard H-2 and H- infinity Control Problems," 34:8, August 1989

John Doyle Headshot Photo
California Institute of Technology