IEEE Fellow

Each year the IEEE designates as Fellows individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the electrical and electronics engineering profession. The CSS has two standing committees, with non-overlapping membership, that participate in the Fellow selection process. The chairs of these two committees, who must be IEEE Fellows and CSS members, are appointed by the BoG based on recommendations from the President-Elect and the Executive Committee. The chairs appoint the members of their committees.

To view recipients of IEEE Fellow prior to 2018 or to view members elevated by other Societies or Councils please visit the CSS IEEE Fellows Archive.

You can find more information regarding the IEEE Fellow Program along with a complete listing of IEEE Fellows here. A list of women CSS Fellows can be found by selecting the "Women" tab here.

Nomination Details:

The Fellow Evaluation Committee, which should have at least six members, evaluates the achievements of those nominees whose forms are forwarded to it by their respective nominators. (Each nomination designates a relevant IEEE Society that should be asked to provide an evaluation of the candidate's achievements.) The Fellow Evaluation Committee should be composed of IEEE Fellows whose joint expertise spans the breadth of technical specialties covered by the CSS.

The Fellow Nomination Committee seeks out worthy candidates and nominators for those individuals in order to improve the pool of candidates for consideration as Fellows.


Antonis Papachristodoulou

for fundamental contributions to theory and applications of Sum of Squares Programing and networked control systems

Maurizio Porfiri

for contributions to networked control systems and biomimetic robotics

Murti Salapaka

for enabling nano-science using control and systems technologyfor enabling nano-science using control and systems technology

Maarten Steinbuch

for contributions to Advanced Motion Control, Mechatronics, Medical Robotics, and Electric Driving

Mario Sznaier

for outstanding contributions to Multiobjective Robust Control, Robust Identification, and Dynamic Vision

Panagiotis Tsiotras

for fundamental contributions to the application of nonlinear and optimal control to aerospace systems

Fariba Fahroo

for contributions to computational optimal control theory

Tong Zhou

for contributions to robust identification and estimation of control systems

Naira Hovakimyan

for contributions to control with applications to aerospace and robotic systems

Jonathan How

for contributions to guidance and control of air and space vehicles