Control Systems Technology Award

To recognize outstanding contributions to control systems technology either in design and implementation or project management.

Historical Background:

Revised 2000.

$2,000, photo-engraved Plaque for each recipient, and travel expenses to the CDC for one recipient (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference) If the prize is awarded to a group, members of the group will equally split the cash portion of the prize.
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At the Awards Ceremony of the IEEE Control Systems Society.
Basis for Judgement:
The technical merit of the outstanding control systems technology contribution in either design and implementation, or project management. The broader impacts of the contribution towards the benefit of society at large and towards the CSS diversity and inclusiveness goals in terms of geography, gender, and work sector.
Either an individual or a team.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the IEEE Control Systems Society Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions


Warren Dixon, Nitin Sharma, Matthew J. Bellman, Alan Hamlet, Christian Cousin, Courtney Rouse, Ryan Downey, Victor Duenas

For closed-loop functional electrical stimulation control methods leading to successful commercialization and personalized rehabilitative treatment options.

Pierino Bonanni, James Brooks, David Chan, Ramu Chandra, Paul Houpt, H. Kirk Mathews, Bernardo Movsichoff, Manthram Sivasubramaniam

For control systems innovations of the GE Trip Optimizer leading to both commercial success and significant environmental benefits.

Aaron Knobloch, Anna Stefanopoulou, Dyche Anderson, Jason Karp, Christopher Kapusta, Jason Siegel

For the development of an advanced battery management system accounting for electro-thermo-mechanical phenomena.

Nathan Van De Wouw, Henk Nijmeijer, Alexey Pavlov, Marcel Heertjes

For the Development and Application of Variable-Gain Control techniques for High-Performance Motion Systems.

Michael Cantoni, Iven Mareels, Erik Weyer

for their work, in a 15 year collaboration with Rubicon Water of Australia, for the development and implementation of controls for irrigation channels and water management, as embodied in Rubicon's Total Channel Control product

No Award Given

David Germann, Dejan Kihas, Daniel Pachner, Jaroslav Pekar, Greg Stewart, Francesco Borrelli

for the design, implementation and commercialization of the OnRAMP Design Suite for Powertrain Control

Christos G. Cassandras, Michael Clune

For the design and commercial development of SimEvents, a discrete event and hybrid system simulator.


Mrdjan Jankovic

For advancing automotive engine technology using novel control and optimization methods

Reza Moheimani, Angeliki Pantazi, Abu Sebastian, Giovanni Cherubini, Mark Lantz, Haralampos Pozidis, Hugo Rothuizen, Evangelos Elftheriou

For nanopositioning for MEMS-based storage and other applications