Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize

This award is to recognize distinguished cutting-edge contributions by a young researcher to the theory or application of systems and control.

Historical Background:

The Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize was established in 2005 to honor the memory of Antonio Ruberti. Antonio Ruberti was one of the first three Professors of Automatic Control in Italy (together with Giorgio Quazza and Antonio Lepschy). In 1964 the first chair of Automatic Control was established at the University of Rome "La Sapienza" and he was hired to occupy that position. He was Faculty Dean and later Rector (for 11 years) of "La Sapienza", Minister of Minister of University and Scientific Research, Commissioner of the EU for Science, Research and Education, and he later held several other positions in EU Commission till his sudden and unexpected death in 2000. His scientific interests in the field of system and control were very wide. In particular, he was one of the early pioneers of geometric control methods for nonlinear systems. For further information about Professor Ruberti, please follow this link to the following website dedicated to his contribution - currently under construction.

$5000, Galvanic (photo engraved) plaque, conference registration, economy airfares and four days accommodation for the recipient to attend the Conference on Decision and Control (CDC).
Funded by the Ruberti Foundation.
At the Awards Ceremony of the CSS held during CDC.
Basis for Judgement:
The breadth, caliber, challenge, and promise of their contributions to multidisciplinary research, innovation, and impact on theory or real world applications.
To be eligible the nominee must be 40 years old or younger on January 1st of the year of the award.
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the CSS Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination System Instructions

Award Recipients


Alessandro Astolfi

2007 Recipient of Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize
for contributions to the theory and applications of nonlinear control systems


Vincent Blondel

2006 Recipient of Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize
for fundamental contributions to control theory, especially stabilization, computational complexity issues, and decidability


Richard Braatz

2005 Recipient of Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize
for theoretical results in the robust control of complex systems, and their application in the process, pharmaceutical, and microelectronics industries