IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology Outstanding Paper Award

To recognize an outstanding paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology.

Historical Background:

Established in 1998,

A photo-engraved plaque for each recipient and, for one recipient of each award, travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare), conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference).
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At most one (1) award presented annually at the Awards Ceremony of the IEEE Control Systems Society.
Basis for Judging:
Originality, relevance of the application, clarity of exposition, and demonstrated impact on control systems technology.
Authors of papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology during the two calendar years preceding the year of the award. The paper publication date is determined by the journal volume date (not the online publication date).
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the IEEE Control Systems Society Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions


Angeliki Pantazi, Abu Sebastian, Giovanni Cherubini, Mark Lantz, Haralampos Pozidis, Hugo Rothuizen, and Evangelos Elftheriou

Masayuki Fujita, Hiroyuki Kawai, and Mark Spong

Andrew J. Fleming, and Reza Moheimani

Kristin Y. Pettersen, Frédéric Mazenc, and Henk Nijmeijer

Zoltan Nagy, and Richard Braatz

Rajesh Rajamani, Han-Shue Tan, Boon Law, and Wei-Bin Zhang