George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award

To recognize an outstanding paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control.

A photo-engraved Plaque for each recipient and, for one recipient, travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare), conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference).
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society
At most one (1) award presented at the Award Ceremony of the CSS.
Basis for Judgement:
Originality, potential impact on the theoretical foundations of control, importance and practical significance in applications, and clarity.
Authors of papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control during the two calendar years preceding the year of the award. The paper publication date is determined by the journal volume date (not the online publication date).
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the CSS Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions


Munther Dahleh, Nuno Martins

Antoine Girard, George J. Pappas

Giuseppe Calafiore, Marco Campi

Sanjay Lall, Michael Rotkowitz

Tetsuya Iwasaki, Shinji Hara


Joao Hespanha

Ali Jadbabaie, A. Stephen Morse, Jie Lin

Munther Dahleh, Munther Dahleh, Bassam Bamieh, Fernando Paganini - 2004 recipient of George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award, Fernando Paganini

Christopher Byrnes, Tryphon Georgiou, Anders Lindquist

Gabriel Abba, Jessy Grizzle, Franck Plestan