IEEE Fellow

Each year the IEEE designates as Fellows individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the electrical and electronics engineering profession. The CSS has two standing committees, with non-overlapping membership, that participate in the Fellow selection process. The chairs of these two committees, who must be IEEE Fellows and CSS members, are appointed by the BoG based on recommendations from the President-Elect and the Executive Committee. The chairs appoint the members of their committees.

To view recipients of IEEE Fellow prior to 2018 or to view members elevated by other Societies or Councils please visit the CSS IEEE Fellows Archive.

You can find more information regarding the IEEE Fellow Program along with a complete listing of IEEE Fellows here. A list of women CSS Fellows can be found here.

Nomination Details:

The Fellow Evaluation Committee, which should have at least six members, evaluates the achievements of those nominees whose forms are forwarded to it by their respective nominators. (Each nomination designates a relevant IEEE Society that should be asked to provide an evaluation of the candidate's achievements.) The Fellow Evaluation Committee should be composed of IEEE Fellows whose joint expertise spans the breadth of technical specialties covered by the CSS.

The Fellow Nomination Committee seeks out worthy candidates and nominators for those individuals in order to improve the pool of candidates for consideration as Fellows.


Benjamin Van Roy

for contributions to the theory and practice of reinforcement learning and approximate dynamic programming

Mihailo Jovanovic

for contributions to modeling, optimization, and control of large-scale and distributed systems

Min Wu

for contribution to the field of advanced control and intelligent automation for complex systems

David Castañón

for contributions to discrete time stochastic control and information fusion

Antonis Papachristodoulou

for fundamental contributions to theory and applications of Sum of Squares Programing and networked control systems

Maurizio Porfiri

for contributions to networked control systems and biomimetic robotics

Sonia Martinez

for contributions to the geometric mechanics and control

Girish Nair

for contributions to control and information in networked dynamical systems

Andrew G. Alleyne

for contributions to the control of thermal management systems

Silviu-iulian Niculescu

for research on the effects of delays in system dynamics