Award Listing

To recognize outstanding contributions to control systems engineering, science or technology. 

To recognize distinguished contributions to control systems science or engineering.

  • Headshot Photo
    Editor-in-Chief TAC; Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize Chair; Areas of expertise: H-infinity control; Mechanical systems/robotics; Model/Controller reduction; Geometric methods for nonlinear systems; Observers for nonlinear systems; Adaptive control.

The Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize was established in 2005 to honor the memory of Antonio Ruberti. Antonio Ruberti was one of the first three Professors of Automatic Control in Italy (together with Giorgio Quazza and Antonio Lepschy). In 1964 the first chair of Automatic Control was established at the University of Rome "La Sapienza" and he was hired to occupy that position. He was Faculty Dean and later Rector (for 11 years) of "La Sapienza", Minister of Minister of University and Scientific Research, Commissioner of the EU for Science, Research and Education, and he later held several other positions in EU Commission till his sudden and unexpected death in 2000. His scientific interests in the field of system and control were very wide. In particular, he was one of the early pioneers of geometric control methods for nonlinear systems. For further information about Professor Ruberti, please follow this link to the following website dedicated to his contribution - currently under construction.

This award is to recognize distinguished cutting-edge contributions by a young researcher to the theory or application of systems and control.

To recognize outstanding papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control.

To recognize an outstanding paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology.

  • Headshot Photo
    TCNS Senior Editor; CSM Outstanding Paper Award Chair

To recognize an article or column published in the IEEE Control Systems Magazine.

To a team or individual for an outstanding control systems technology contribution in either design and implementation, or project management.

  • Greg Stewart
    Control Systems Society Transition to Practice Award Chair

To a distinguished contributor to the transition of control and systems theory to practical, industrial, or commercial systems.

To recognize excellence in a CCTA paper whose primary contributor(s) is a (are) Student Member(s) of the IEEE.

  • Graziano Chesi Headshot Photo
    CDC Best Student-Paper Award Chair; L-CSS Associate Editor

To recognize excellence in a conference paper whose primary contributor(s) is a (are) Student Member(s) of the IEEE.

To recognize an outstanding Chapter of the Control Systems Society.

To recognize significant technical contributions and outstanding long-term service to the Control Systems Society.

  • Rodolphe Sepulchre Headshot Photo
    CSS Board of Governors, term ending 31 December 2018 (elected); Transactions on Control of Network Systems Outstanding Paper Award Chair

To recognize an outstanding paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Control of Network Systems.

  • Randy Beard Headshot Photo
    Award for Technical Excellence in Aerospace Control Chair

The award will be given annually to a person or team of people that performed an aerospace control engineering activity during the previous 36 months that demonstrates excellence and significant results with demonstrated impact. Examples of results evidence are either a paper appearing in an IEEE publication that specifically addresses aerospace controls issues, or a patent application or award that significantly advances the state-of-the-art in aerospace controls. Innovative products that have appeared on the marketplace will also be considered. The award is similar to the outstanding paper awards for the CSS transactions and magazine in the sense that it recognizes an outstanding paper or patented idea as opposed to cumulative contributions over a career. 

To recognize outstanding papers presented at the IEEE Conference on Decision and Control